Jerry Seinfeld, Michael Richards Get Serious On “Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee”

Last night’s season finale of Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee went further than the usual yuk-yuk’s between Jerry Seinfeld and his buddies in favor of some serious catharsis. The show, which released once a week, centers around Jerry and one or two friends that drive through New York or L.A. in a beautiful car and eat at a diner while making jokes about nothing.

Michael Richards was on this past Thursday. The actor – once universally beloved for playing Kramer – has been buried by his own reputation since he went on a racist rant during a performance at the Laugh Factory. Since then he’s flown under the radar, popping up only in the Seinfeld themed season of Curb Your Enthusiasm.

After watching Comedians In Cars Thursday night, it’s hard not to feel bad for the guy. He certainly seemed more uncomfortable being filmed than any other of Seinfeld’s guests on the show. What would’ve been a funny Kramer-wearing-sunglasses-and-wig bit just seemed kind of transparent.

It’s clear that Seinfeld and Richards aren’t as close as they once were but their mutual affection for each other is still clear.

“Sometimes I look back at the show and I think I should’ve enjoyed myself more,” Richards said before being met with reassurances from his old neighbor.

“I think I worked selfishly and not selflessly. It’s not about me, it’s about them. Now, that’s a lesson I learned seven years ago when I blew it in the comedy club and lost my temper because somebody said some things that interrupted my act and hurt me…I should have been working selflessly.

“I busted up after that event. It broke me down…Inside it still kicks me around.”

It’s clear that Richards has been in a private turmoil since the incident and the raw honesty makes him easy to root for.

This entry was posted in Comedy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

