Pinterest: Chicks Only?

If you haven’t heard of it yet, Pinterest is the newest social networking site for people to waste time on. It’s incredibly popular, driving more traffic to retail sites than YouTube, Google+, and LinkedIn combined. Instead of a Wall like on Facebook, users have pin boards where they can upload and re-pin pictures from almost anywhere on the internet. It’s a dream for anyone looking to sell funky products or get some attention to a new design. It’s also dominated by chicks. In fact 83% of users on the site are women, most of which are between the ages of 35 and 44. But even as a male in my early 20s, I can’t get enough of it.

Nothing gets my estrogen pumping like some time on Pinterest. I originally wanted in because it was an invite-only site and the fact that it was exclusive was enough to make me want in. I didn’t even care what it was all about; I had to get in the club. Once I did, I thought “Pssht I don’t need this, this is girly stuff! I’m going to get cooties!” I felt like I might as well turn in my membership card back into the He-Man-Woman-Haters Club. .

Alas, as I killed time online throughout the next few days I had to keep suppressing my urges to pin and (gulp) re-pin. So many pictures I would’ve never even noticed before signing up for Pinterest became ones I couldn’t see myself going without. How could I possibly make it through life without revisiting this picture of a creepy little guy checking out Joanie’s boobs? Or a chart documenting the corny lyrics Van Halen uses?

            

It became impossible. Now I’m a full-blown addict. I still try to hold back not to suppress my love for Pinterest, but so my female cousins and friend’s girlfriend’s don’t think I’m a psycho for re-pinning every picture I see of Johnny Cash. Even as I write this I’m itching to scour the hippest tumblr’s so I can determine what’s up to my Pinterest standard and once I decide, never look at that picture again. My Facebook stalking has lost out to an even girlier time warp.

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

