Woolly Mammoth or Bear? Unfortunately, Bear

Here’s a video I heard about that’s been making the rounds online. If it didn’t surface today it’s no older than a few days, and is purported to be Siberian footage of a woolly mammoth. I keep telling myself it’s stupid but I’ve probably watched this video 15 times already analyzing it over and over again so I’m not sure what to think. I should mention here that I think this would be like the coolest thing ever if it was true so I’m a little biased. I don’t have a clue about this topic and won’t claim to but there are a few things that jumped out at me as I watched;

1. It’s tough to tell from what distance the video is being shot from. It doesn’t seem too far, though, and I’d think that a woolly mammoth would appear bigger. UPDATE: Woolly mammoths ranged in size from 9 to 15 feet tall

2. When this video zooms in at the 11 second mark it looks a lot like a bear carrying a fish. However, the head seems to be pretty big for a bear and that fish is pretty big and stays quite steady rather than flailing around like you’d think.

3. Siberia is a region that’s north of China and borders Russia, it’s a big cold place. Woolly mammoths went extinct because of the climate change but it’s worth mentioning that a small population of them survived in Alaska until 3,750 B.C. Apparently, there have been local legends there for a very long time about seeing woolly mammoths in the forest. Those legends have never been confirmed but at the end of the ’90s there were remnants of mammoth bone found that dated back thousands and thousands of years.

4. For what it’s worth, I looked up what kind of animals are known natives of Siberia and didn’t find anything about elephants. Woolly Mammoths are the ancestor of elephants that inhabit India today.

5. I don’t really even want to mention this because it’s so ridiculous but some guy claims to have gathered hair from this thing and says it matches ancient samples from mammoths that were killed off when they went extinct.

This entry was posted in Outliers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

