I miss you already, Boomer

Chris Berman in the early days of ESPN.

I miss Chris Berman already. His “2 Minute Drill” is the best part of ESPN during football season and now that it won’t be around for a while I’m going through some serious grief. Ol’ Boomer is definitely near the top of my list of people I’d like to have a beer with.

I’m currently wading through the best selling Those Guys Have All The Fun: Inside The World of ESPN and Berman is by far one of the most engaging personalities. It’s an oral history, and I’ve made notes around almost every one of his quotes. Berman was hired at ESPN soon after college and began developing his schtick almost immediately. I don’t want to say too much, but the guy grew up with ESPN and helped lay the foundation for every anchor on the network. He’s their superstar. That and he seems like an approachable, astute fan. Even though I’m not too far into the book I can tell you Boomer is brimming with confidence in his interview and is refreshingly candid when it comes to dishing out the truth the network’s early days, as well as its party-hardy nights.

Can you imagine Brian Williams talking about smuggling drugs?:

This entry was posted in Books, Media, Sports, TV Shows and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

