“The Mushrooms Are Turning On Me!”

Over the years I’ve become a snob about a lot of things. I too often have to bite my tongue and not rain on other people’s parades when they talk about sports or entertainment that isn’t up to my impossibly high standard. It isn’t easy to admit, but I have become that guy.

One thing that’s tough to hate on is Cirque Du Soleil. I saw it in Toronto over the weekend and it was too cool to criticize, even for a stuffy nerd like me. It was creepy, funny, and physically, seemed unreal.

The show included audience members at times (one big plus was that the performers were unafraid to be harsh with the audience, which was nice just because of unpredictability), and a live band that blasted music through the arena. I thought I knew what to expect, but the acts of physicality blew me away. At one point, a male performer balanced a female upside down and straight up in the air touching only by their shoulder blades. There was barely any talking through out the show but it was an intense, suspenseful performance. The problem I had was cracking up a few times during the show because I couldn’t help but think of the scene from Knocked Up when Seth Rogen and Paul Rudd take mushrooms and see Cirque Du Soleil while tripping.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Mushrooms Are Turning On Me!”

  1. Pingback: Thank you for reading; ‘When You Put It That Way’ has moved | When You Put It That Way

  2. Bettie says:

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for
    jiminy cricket quotes

  3. Everything is very ooen with a very clear clarification of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your site is very useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

